Books of 2017 – Software Systems Architecture: Working with Stakeholders Using Viewpoints and Perspectives

Software Systems Architecture: Working with Stakeholders Using Viewpoints and Perspectives by Nick Rozanski and Eoin Woods

This was the other book that my work colleague had highlighted to me a few years ago, that had remained on my Kindle reading list for a rather long time. I was also keen to read this work as I had come across Eoin Woods on a Software Engineering Radio podcast back in 2009 and liked his thinking.

As with the previous book this provides a great list of viewpoints that make sense when developing a solution architecture, but in addition to the viewpoints the book introduces the concept of perspective. The architectural perspective is similar to a viewpoint, buy rather than addressing a type of architectural structure, context, deployment, a perspective addresses a particular quality property (such as performance, security, or availability).

Leave a comment